Bookish and Not-So-Bookish Thoughts

  1. It turns out that I am the kind of person who, when left alone for the weekend, mentally regresses into single student mode. When I did a load of washing on Friday night, I felt as though I’d be morally justified in taking a picture, uploading it to Instagram, and tagging it “#adulting”. (nb: I did not actually do this.) Also, the ONLY reason I did not eat cookies for three days was because I had been made to solemnly and specifically promise that I wouldn’t.
  2. Although going to see movies is not something I do regularly, I’m thinking I might have to go see Batman vs. Superman. Not because it’s good or anything, but because the Chaos is actually on the soundtrack. (He does session work for film scores, on and off.) That’s a good reason to blow Ā£20 on tickets and popcorn, right?
  3. c2Most of the stuff on this site probably would not fit me, or would look like a stretched-out handkerchief on my body, but this Mulan skirt… I would turn up for this.
  4. A feminist Facebook group I’m part of, Cuntry Living (YUP), has been running a thread of “great female literary characters” recently and it’s so great. Meg Murray! Alanna of Trebond! Betsey Trotwood! Becky Sharp! Moll Flanders! Hester Prynne! Penelope! Lyra! Scarlett O’Hara! Sally Lockhart! Jean Brodie! Maggie Tulliver! Amy Dunne! Shug Avery! Scout Finch! Violet Baudelaire! I’m going to have to go back and do a lot of rereading. Or maybe a Kick-Ass Women Week?
  5. I’ve recently decided to start helping myself out when it comes to my TBR by breaking it up into little chunks: four books at a time go onto a pile on my dresser, to be read through in order. Then, once I’ve read those, I can pick my next chunk. It helps me to mix up books to be reviewed with books I may have borrowed, books from the Baileys Prize archive (an ongoing project), and long-owned books that deserve to be read before I forget I even have them. At present, I’m reading Lisa McInerney’s The Glorious Heresies; the rest of the small pile comprises A Wizard of Earthsea (borrowed from the Chaos), The Exclusives by Rebecca Thornton (to be reviewed), and Selected Poems of Sylvia Plath (bought in January, needs reading).
6 thoughts on “Bookish and Not-So-Bookish Thoughts

  1. All the win for that feminist facebook group. Let us know how Batman v. Superman is, won’t you? I love Henry Cavill and I’ve heard great things about Wonder Woman’s brief appearance . . . but . . . well, the previews were just so joyless.

  2. I also have regressive tendencies. My partner Esther is away for the week and this evening I ate cold leftovers from two nights ago out of a plastic box while standing up in the kitchen watching Q&A videos on YouTube. I say go with it. šŸ™‚

    Your TBR plan is *such* a good plan. I am going to go and create a four book chunk right now.

    • Literally delighted that someone else does this kind of shit, too. It makes me feel like such a middle-schooler but…

      Let me know how TBR chunking goes! I’m having a great time with it.

  3. Yes! Did you eat cereal for dinner? That’s my totally favorite thing to do! I like your TBR strategy. You’ll have to update us on how well it works šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

